Round and Round

November 24, 2012 at 12:17 pm Leave a comment

It took me a while to get to my first run this week–although I did go skiing Thursday morning before Thanksgiving dinner!

Yesterday I finally got out there to practice my gears. I went to a high school track so I could have an even running surface while practicing running faster but keeping my cadence the same.

Let me tell you, this was hard. It took several laps of listening to a metronome to get to a point where I could increase my speed but keep a steady cadence. But even when I was keeping rhythm to the metronome I found myself still working too hard, pushing off, and giving myself shin splints. I had to think hard about keeping my feet under me, my one-legged stance, and also couldn’t tell if my pelvis was rotating enough. There were moments where it felt right but much of the run was frustrating.

After about 25 minutes of running 1/3 of a lap in each gear–1st gear (warm up pace), 2nd gear (average training pace) and 3rd gear (running hard)–I stopped switching and finished the rest of the run in 2nd gear. Mapmyrun said I did 4 miles in 40 minutes, and I’m not sure how reliable that is, but I’ll take it.

In any case, after the run I emailed Cheryl, my local ChiRunning instructor, to set up a one-on-one session. I’ve been spending months working on my form now, and although I am doing something right because I can still run without too much pain, I want to make sure I’m not engraining bad habits and I want to breakthrough these struggles with the core tenets–relaxation and pelvic rotation. I’m seeing her later today so I’ll be back soon with an update and hopefully some insights.

How’s your training going with the holiday festivities?

Entry filed under: mid week run, Stride. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Week 7 Training Plan 3 Steps Backward and 8 Miles Forward

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


