Week 7 Training Plan

November 21, 2012 at 4:18 am 2 comments

Is it just me, or did last week fly by?!

I’m already two days into Week 7 and am just now sitting down with the ChiMarathon book to see what my training plan is for the week. Slacking…Want further proof? Today instead of running I got a Thai Massage.  It was much needed though, and now I’m ready to get into the Week 7 groove.

What’s the plan this week?

Gears.

What are gears?

Well, the ChiRuning gears are used just like any other gears to regulate energy expenditure and speed. ChiRunning gears are your forward lean and stride length. Your cadence (180 strides per minute, typically) stays the same but to run faster your stride length increases as you lean farther forward. But get this: your stride length increases when you allow your legs to swing back. No overstriding or landing with your feet in front of your body!

To be clearer, there are 4 ChiRunning gears:

1st gear is the warmup pace.

2nd gear is an aerobic pace, or a comfortable speed to carry on a conversation.

3rd gear is the race pace, where it is difficult to carry on a conversation.

4th gear is a sprint or anaerobic pace for short distances.

To progress through the gears you lean forward from the ankles a little bit more (about 1 inch for every gear) and let your legs swing farther up behind you. Cadence stays the same all the time! Relaxed hips, legs and feet, plus a freely rotating pelvis are key to this. If you’re holding any tension in your moving parts, you’re only creating friction and resistance to efficiency of movement.

So not only will I continue to focus on relaxing my limbs, rotating my pelvis, and keeping a steady cadence in my runs this week, I will also be practicing my 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gears; running while shifting gears, if you will. This will require playing with my lean and pushing my cardio capacity more than usual

Before my long run of 8 miles (*gulp*) on Saturday I need to get 2 45 minute runs in and then I need to be sure to get a recovery run in on Sunday. Mixed in with skiing (yep it’s ski season already), friends, families, and parties, we’ll see how it goes before Saturday, but I’ll do my best. Stay tuned…

Happy Thanksgiving everabody! What are your plans for the long weekend?

 

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Stride. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

How Important Are Recovery Runs? Round and Round

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Fritz  |  November 21, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too. Danny Dreyer should pay you for these excellent explanations of his theory!

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  November 22, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      Thanks Jane! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


