Day 40: Exploring Baltimore

November 9, 2012 at 8:38 pm 5 comments

Have you ever been to Baltimore?

What a great city! I had a fun time running around downtown today–I got to see many cool spots, and navigating the new streets and much more traffic than I’m used to helped the time fly by.

I have no idea how far I ran or my pace. My garmin said I ran 4 miles in 45 minutes while mapmyrun said I ran 4.6 miles in 52 minutes. The garmin time is closest since I stopped it at lights and mostly remembered to start it each time, but I have no idea of my distance or why the discrepancy. So, I averaged the two and am guessing I ran 4.3 in 47 minutes. Totally cool with that.

As for where I ran, check it out, although I apologize for the picture quality–I have no way of editing or sizing the pics on the road. I started in the business district downtown…

20121109-232309.jpg

Ran toward the harbor and Camden Yards…

20121109-232401.jpg

Ran by a ship and got a glimpse of the water….

20121109-232437.jpg

And up Charles street where I saw amazing architecture, churches, cathedrals, monuments…

20121109-232546.jpg

20121109-232653.jpg

20121109-232847.jpg

20121109-232813.jpg

I ran through the Mt. Vernon neighborhood to Penn Station, a “port” of entry so common for me a while back that a few years ago my youngest nephew asked his mom, “why doesn’t aunt Stephanie have a car?” (answer: I was always arriving in Baltimore by train after having flown to new york or DC from Reno:)

20121109-233218.jpg

And then I ran back to the hotel rejuvenated after so many days of sitting indoors. It’s the little things, you know?

20121109-233457.jpg

I’ve mapped out a six mile route tomorrow that will take me all over the harbor, to Fort McHenry (home of the National Anthem), and that will culminate at my nephews’ soccer games. Can’t wait!

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, mid week run, Pelvic Rotation, Travel.

Day 37: Back on the horse Day 41: 6 miles in Charm City

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Day 44: 6 miles in Charm City « Ch'I Journey  |  November 12, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    […] time I’ve ever run that far, ever. My legs felt like lead after such a bit of a long run on Friday (which turned out much more aggressive than I thought), so it was a bit of a struggle but I […]

    Reply
  • 2. Meg  |  November 10, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Great pictures! Your post made me giggle. Next running adventure…chasing your nephews next time we get to see you!

    Reply
    • 3. Steph  |  November 12, 2012 at 5:16 pm

      Thanks Meg! It was so great to see you guys and I can’t wait to get back for some “chase!” Maybe my cardio will be better and I won’t get so winded! haha

      Reply
  • 4. grackleandsun  |  November 10, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Baltimore is pretty awesome. Nice to run in new spots, yeah?

    Reply
    • 5. Steph  |  November 10, 2012 at 5:54 pm

      Ah sooo nice! Makes me glad I started running–a very efficient way to explore.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


