Week 5 Training Plan

November 6, 2012 at 4:00 am 1 comment

This week I get to pretend to be a mall walker. Wait, huh?

Let me back up. Now that I get a do-over on Week 5, I get to spend a week focusing on pelvic rotation. I’ve written about this pretty extensively here, so I won’t repeat myself. Suffice it to say that pelvic rotation is one of the keys to unlocking Chi Running. Letting your legs swing up behind you allows you to work with the force of the road and avoid injury.

The secret to pelvic rotation is pumping your arms, fyi. Just pretend you’re a mall walker and your pelvis will rotate. The trick is to remember to do it. But when you find it, you know, and it feels great. So anyway, this is the plan:

Monday: Ashtanga Yoga

Tuesday: 45 minute run practicing the pelvic rotation exercises.

Wednesday: Rest and travel to Baltimore, Maryland for a work conference.

Thursday: 45 minute run integrating pelvic rotation and posture focuses before I present on calculating judicial workload to a bunch of public policy/data nerds.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 6 mile run (along the Baltimore Harbor perhaps?!)

Sunday: 35 minute fun run.

So that’s it. I’m looking forward to getting back into my routine, seeing how it goes after a week off, and checking out some new routes. I have family in Baltimore who are runners so I’m hoping for some good tips on where to safely run.

I’ll do my best to take some good pictures but I doubt any will be as awesome as this:

 

Any tips for scoping out tourist running routes in a new city? I’m sure there’s a website out there?

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Pelvic Rotation. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Week 5: A Wash Day 37: Back on the horse

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Day 40: Back on the horse « Ch'I Journey  |  November 9, 2012 at 4:07 am

    […] along the river, running with the current and it was nice. I will do it again. I tried focusing on pelvic rotation and it went fine, but the run was more to see how I could hang after such a long hiatus. It was […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


