Week 5: A Wash

November 2, 2012 at 9:50 am 2 comments

Well, training abruptly screeched to a halt this week because of a nasty head/chest cold I picked up over the weekend.

My constitution has been delicate (ha! I’ve always wanted to write that for some reason. Just picture me in an 18th century English manor in a threadbare but once elegant gown staring forlornly out the window as I wring my hands, fretting over the affairs of the house), allowing me time at home to stare out the window get caught up on Homeland and, ostensibly, write a blog post, but the last thing I’ve wanted to do is be on the computer. So, I’m sorry for my MIA-ness. I’ve got a bit more pep in my step but I’m still not 100% and have resigned to the fact that I won’t be running at all this week. I don’t want to jeopardize a healthy constitution. Plus it’s D’s birthday this weekend so I’ve got to save any energy for celebrating.

Hopefully by Monday I will be back at it and will get a re-do at Week 5.

In the meantime, here are some pictures from my long run last Saturday. Which, ahem, was the longest run I’ve ever done, ever. 6 miles. Whoo hoo! It wasn’t all that bad, I don’t remember my time, but I stayed under a 12 minute mile and felt pretty good afterward, except for some tight/sore hips. I was excited to carry that milestone into a new week of training but, alas, we’ll see how it goes next week….

 

 

On Sunday I met up with an old friend for lunch and a view of Tahoe. It’s so hard dragging myself up there. I mean, it’s just so boring and ugly. See?

Just kidding. Obviously Tahoe is amazing and I love going up there.

The only other cool thing that happened this week was watching Susan’s reaction to the trick-or-treaters that came to our house. Once she figured out people would be knocking on our door she was ready.

So that’s about it. Stay tuned for my bold and brave return to running and training next week!

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Home, Rest. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Review: Energy Bits Week 5 Training Plan

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Week 5 Training Plan « Ch'I Journey  |  November 6, 2012 at 4:05 am

    […] me back up. Now that I get a do-over on Week 5, I get to spend a week focusing on pelvic rotation. I’ve written about this pretty […]

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Fritz  |  November 3, 2012 at 9:45 am

    That’s the attitude! Fabulous pics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


