Review: Energy Bits

October 26, 2012 at 1:31 pm Leave a comment

A few weeks ago the internets asked me, “Do you want to be your best and energize your body naturally?”

I said, “Duh. Sure. Where do I sign up?”

And about a week later I received a sample of ENERGYbits® in the mail!

What are ENERGYbits? Why, they’re algae! That’s right. Little tabs of algae. See?

Algae is widely eaten in Asia because it is packed full of protein, vitamins, and antioxidants. There is a really long list of health benefits associated with algae including increased energy, reduced blood pressure! and cholesterol, boosted immune system, reduced anemia, and happy brain functioning. Heck, NASA has been feeding astronauts algae for decades. Let’s get on that train!

So this Boston-based company, ENERGYbits, makes algae tabs that are 100% organically grown spirulina algae, with 60% protein and 40 nutrients, and are one calorie per tab. They recommend taking at least 30 tabs before any workout and to take them whenever you are tired or hungry.

After reading all about this product before it arrived, I was really excited to see their effect on my weekend runs. Last weekend, I ate a handful before I headed out for my long run, and was feeling nicely revved up; not in a really hyper way but I felt full of energy and ready to go! So how’d it go?

The run went great! I didn’t get fatigued and was able to maintain a good pace, especially while running my longest distance in months. I ate the rest of the bits the next day before my recovery run and even though I was working through pretty bad shin splints my energy level felt great.

I’ve spent quite a bit of time thinking about whether or not I experienced a placebo effect, but I really don’t think I did. My energy and endurance truly were boosted and I felt some real effects before my run.

If you’re interested in learning more about Energybits check out their website. And for having read this review you can get 10% off any order by entering the word “BLOG” into the coupon box when checking out.

I’ll warn you now, they’re not cheap but how much money do you spend on vitamins and supplements each month? How much do you spend on coffee every week? I’m planning on investing up front on these Energybits and then I’ll save money by not needing to buy any other vitamins, supplements or coffee for the month. To me, that’s a good trade off but it may not be everyone’s cup of tea.

What do you think about incorporating algae into your diet?

Disclaimer: I did receive a free sample of Energybits but was in no other way compensated for this review. I stand by my words and think we should all be #PoweredByBits.

Entry filed under: Chi Running, Energy, Product Review. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Day 25: Lunch Break by the River Week 5: A Wash

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


