Day 23: First Snow

October 24, 2012 at 10:24 am 4 comments

See that white stuff on the mountains?

Yep.

Snow. After the gorgeous weekend it started snowing in the high elevations Monday and now it feels like full on winter.

I was not ready. Yesterday’s run was so cold and windy I pulled the wimp card and went home after 20 minutes. I needed a headband and gloves. However, the 1.5 miles I did manage to accomplish went pretty well, albeit very slow. I focused on running with LIMP lower legs and my shins didn’t bother me! I emphasize “limp” because I hadn’t conceptualized relaxation to that point, but I read that in the Chi Marathon book and it really clicked with me. When you truly just let your legs support your frame, instead of propel you forward, your muscles can relax and lo, shin splints seemingly disappear.

It does appear that I have sacrificed some speed to get the hang of this, but that’s okay for now. I’m going to try to get another run in today to keep practicing. It’s still cold though. Don’t let the view from my office fool you.

It may be time to go back to the gym…

What do you do about running in the winter? What’s your favorite cold weather gear? I’m in the market.

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Lower Leg. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Everybody’s Running for the Weekend Day 25: Lunch Break by the River

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Fritz  |  October 24, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    I learned something today. I had to look up where Reno actually is to believe that it could be as cold as it is in eastern Canada today! I highly recommend Lululemon tops (probably bottoms too, but I’ve never found it a problem to find long running pants easily). The Lululemon tops have long sleeves with built-in mitts and hand-warmers that can be rolled back, so you don’t have to bring mitts and then wonder where to put them when your hands get warm. And they have built-in hoods (with ponytail openings) so you don’t have to wear a hat and then wonder the same thing. Because I was lucky enough for it to be quite cool for NYC last Nov and also for Chicago a few weeks ago, I wore one of my “winter” Lululemons for each race. They were perfect. You want to make sure that any cold weather tops you buy have a zipper that opens down the front several inches, because you can get amazingly hot, even when it’s cold out. When it is really cold I wear one with a fairly light windbreaker over it and then take the windbreaker off and tie it around my waist if I get too warm. Cold weather running is easier than warm weather running, as long as there’s no ice.

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  October 25, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Thanks Jane! Those tops sound great and I will definitely look into them! I don’t think I’ll mind the cold once I get used to it, at least on days that aren’t really windy. But it’s a bit of a shock at first!

      Reply
  • 3. Marcia  |  October 24, 2012 at 10:38 am

    I’m in the Chicago area and I run outside year round, although if it’s under 10 degrees and i have a long run on tap I’ll do whatever the temp is in miles outside and the rest on a mill (example: if it’s 5 degrees and I have a 12 miler, I’ll do 5 outside and the rest in.) I have some posts about cold weather running gear on my blog. I’ll go find them and give you the links.

    Reply
    • 4. Steph  |  October 24, 2012 at 10:40 am

      Thanks so much! That would be awesome, and already a good tip for the uber cold days!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


