Everybody’s Running for the Weekend

October 22, 2012 at 5:00 am 15 comments

Well, maybe not everybody, but it seems like it based on my social networking feeds.  A lot of my #sweatpink sisters were racing and training and facebooking, and twitter was blowing up. A good thing about this online community I’m digging into, is that the internet can actually be motivating. I was really dragging on Sunday but got dressed and out there after browsing twitter for a while. So, thanks everybody!

Did you run this weekend? How did it go?

I ran twice this weekend and I have full blown shin splints. Bummer. I’m not exactly sure what I’m doing wrong but I’m certain that part of it is that I’m still pushing off and overusing my lower legs.

I realized after my long run Saturday (5 miles woot woot!) that I think, despite all my efforts to fully buy into ChiRunning, I still haven’t broken my habit/instinct to overuse my legs when running. I don’t trust the form. Deep down I don’t think that running from my core, truly letting go and just trusting the lean will get me the same results. I’m still pushing and trying to muscle through runs.

It’s a good first step to be aware of it and I’m sure I’ll be able to work through this over the next few weeks because I’m moving into lower body form focuses and need to get this figured out training really ramps up. Stay tuned, but in the meantime, look at a bunch of pictures from my weekend runs. I did both days along the river. So pretty.

Can you tell I’m obsessed with trees and documenting the marginal existence of fall here in the desert?

Entry filed under: Fun Run, Half Marathon Training, Lower Leg, LSD. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Psssst Day 23: First Snow

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chatter  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Want to switch, I miss the desert, spent 3 years there during my undergrad in Albuquerque and would love to go back to live. Keep working. Also, for shin splints and tight ankles I have gotten into the habit of always moving my feet toward me and away from me and rolling them around while sitting all the time. Helps loosen them up.

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      that’s a good tip! I do that alot before and after runs but could probably stand to do more throughout the day.

      Reply
  • 3. Running Hutch  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    wow those are some beautiful fall trees – we don’t get that here in SoCal. :-( #jealous

    Reply
    • 4. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      aww. I’ve been complaining about the lack of fall here in Reno but it is nice to have a small taste of it rather than none. but hey, it’s snowing today so I wouldn’t lament SoCal too much! :)

      Reply
  • 5. John  |  October 22, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Great photos Steph. And forget about those legs :)

    Reply
    • 6. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      Will do John. Well, I will try to do. :)

      Reply
  • 7. miletwentyeight  |  October 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    beautiful!

    Reply
    • 8. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks! :)

      Reply
  • 9. Jenna  |  October 22, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    The pics you shared are absolutely gorgeous!!! I love them! I hope you have a fabulous monday!!

    Reply
    • 10. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks Jenna! You too and have a great week!

      Reply
  • 11. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife)  |  October 22, 2012 at 11:36 am

    don’t ya just love fall? I love driving down the streets and looking at all the trees! Its the best!

    Reply
    • 12. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      I do love fall Danielle! Unfortunately it’s limited here in Reno, but I’ve been seeking it out and soaking it up!

      Reply
  • 13. grackleandsun  |  October 22, 2012 at 6:16 am

    Great. Now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head.
    Beautiful run! So, in those moments when you do trust the form, is it good? Does it work?

    Reply
    • 14. Steph  |  October 22, 2012 at 8:53 am

      Haha sorry…. to answer your question, I think so, yes, the form works, I just have to trust it for longer. I start thinking too much about my pace and then work harder than I need to.

      Reply
      • 15. Chatter  |  October 22, 2012 at 1:57 pm

        I sit all day for work and quite a bit in the evenings. It keeps the shins, ankles and calves loose from what I can tell, heck your doing nothing else at those times with your legs. Hope it helps.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


