Day 16: The Things You See

October 18, 2012 at 9:33 am 2 comments

Tuesday was Day 16 and a day of running for 35 minutes while working on my posture and forward lean. It was an okay run. My legs felt heavy and I was moving slow, but my upper body and core form felt good and I was running with a smile. I was also thinking a lot about relaxing my lower legs and found that helped with my peroneal pain.

It’s pretty cool to be getting to a point where my physical discomfort doesn’t necessarily ruin my mental game.  I think this is in part because now when I’m running I also feel like I’m doing crunches because my core is so engaged and that makes me happy. I hate crunches but I love the idea of a tighter tummy. Who doesn’t?!

I ran after work and caught some cool effects of the sunset. The eastern side of the Truckee Meadows Valley seemed topped with a pink layer of icing.

It was pretty; I can only imagine what the sunset looked like, but I don’t have a good western vantage point when running around my neighborhood.

So,  after nearing the end of my 2.75 mile run I ran up a nearby street to get a glimpse of this house’s Halloween display in person. Yes, Halloween display. I mean, I can understand people who decorate for Halloween, I guess. I’ve never considered it a big deal–maybe because I always lived in the sticks and had to drive to other neighborhoods to trick or treat? Or maybe because I just don’t have much holiday spirit? Either way, check this out:

Yes, those are blow up cats, spiders and pumpkins. Sorry for the terrible picture quality, but I think you can get an idea of the overall effect. I don’t even really know what to say about it.

So tell me, is it just me who thinks this is both way too much/awesome, or is this par for the course in your neighborhood?

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Holidays. Tags: , , , , , , , .

50 for 50 and Inspiration for Beyond Psssst

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  October 19, 2012 at 5:04 am

    the pictures were spectacular

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Fritz  |  October 18, 2012 at 11:20 am

    It’s not just you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


