50 for 50 and Inspiration for Beyond

October 16, 2012 at 4:00 am 7 comments

This is my 50th post!

And I thought a little commemoration was in order.

Fun facts: I started this blog on July 13.  In the past 3 months I’ve logged at least 50 miles according to my MapMyRun app. I’ve already matched the number of miles I ran in September, and I still have two full weeks to go. I’ve started following well over 50 blogs, and am almost to 50 followers myself. (Sorry, I don’t know how fun those were but they’re all I can come up with right now.)

In other words, I’m feeling pretty good about my progress, both with my running and training, and with all this blogging stuff. I’m excited to see how I handle the challenges ahead; I just hope I’m learning the tools I need to keep going when things get hard and the mileage goes big. Which reminds me…

I’ve gotten where I am today because of community. My parents, close friends, and boyfriend have been incredibly supportive both by letting me yammer on about Chi Running and how great it is, and then still reading my blog.

The online community has also been pretty awesome. A big THANK YOU to all of you who come by, and keep coming by, to comment and like my posts. The #SweatPink, Healthy Living and Fitblogger forums have also been inspiring, helpful, motivating, and inspiring. (I know, I said it twice. It’s just so true!)

I came across another awesome community the other day that I’m contemplating joining and thought I would share in case anyone who ever finds my blog is also a beginner. Its called Inspired Running and I think it is a great idea. What is it?

“Inspired Running is an online community of beginning runners/walkers, offering personalized support, motivation & feedback to help you start running. [For a small monthly fee of $14], benefits include live coaching calls, real-time feedback, motivation & much, much more.”

This community was started by a woman who thought she hated running and could never be a runner but slowly started, tried, stuck with it and started Inspired Running to help others learn to love running. Reading her explanation felt like I was reading about my own story.

“The foundation of the community is built on helping you develop 4 key principals of motivation:

1. Cultivating Desire: Helping you create a true desire to run a.k.a. inspiration

2. Overcoming Obstacles: Giving you tools to break down real and perceived barriers that make running harder than it needs to be. 

3. Taking Action: Providing a clear, customized and doable set of action steps.  You’ll have access to custom training plans and lots of how-to’s. 

4. Getting Support: Surrounding yourself with others who genuinely support you and your goals can improve your success and your well being.”

I think this could be very beneficial. Why? By connecting with others who are also starting out on their journeys and by learning more about #2: overcoming obstacles. I definitely still have a love-hate relationship with running and as training gets harder it could be great to have some extra tools in the ‘ol belt to keep pushing. It sounds like I’ve talked myself into it!

Stumbling across this community has gotten me to thinking about inspiration and while that’s definitely a topic for a whole other post, I realized that I’m not sure what my inspiration is. I guess just finishing the half marathon–the accomplishment and proving to myself that I can do it–is my inspiration, but I wonder, is that enough? Is that enough to drive me to do my best and stick with the training? We shall see.

In the meantime…

What inspires you?

Entry filed under: Blog lovin, Motivation. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Half Marathon Training Week 3 Day 16: The Things You See

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christie Sheppard  |  October 17, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I read your about me section where you said you didn’t want to turn 30 next year and be unhealthy. Same here! I’ll be 30 next year and it was big motivator to get off my butt!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  October 16, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Saying hey! I am a new follow #GGSA! I have never heard of Chi Running…can’t wait to check it out!!

    Reply
    • 3. Steph  |  October 16, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Hey Michelle! Chi Running is really great and has helped me run injury free–no more shin splints!–for several months now. Let me know if you ever have any questions. thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 4. Pam  |  October 16, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Woot woot!!!!

    Reply
    • 5. Steph  |  October 16, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Thanks Pam!! SPA love!

      Reply
  • 6. Chatter  |  October 16, 2012 at 5:52 am

    I have allot of inspiration sources, but the biggest is that pool deep down inside that keeps me going and focused on my goals i have set. Congrats on your 50,it is funny how that number of blogs you follows keeps creeping up, I think I am over 50 now.

    Reply
    • 7. Steph  |  October 16, 2012 at 9:15 am

      I think goals are a great inspiration, especially when they’re so well thought out like yours!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


