Half Marathon Training Week 3

October 15, 2012 at 10:52 am 7 comments

2 weeks down, 14 to go.

The last two weeks have been all about posture and engaging the core. Your core is where you get your power when running, and correct posture ensures that your muscles don’t over-work and that your energy has a clear channel in which to flow.

This week is about focusing on the lean.

“A slight forward lean from your ankles is enough to allow gravity to assist you in falling forward.”

You want to look like this:

Not like this:

Source for both pictures.

Running upright is inefficient and what causes a lot of injuries. The Chi Running literature explains this much better than I can. Also the blog where I borrowed these pictures is very good and provides a great explanation of posture, lean, and general Chi Running misconceptions.

By tapping into a slight forward lean–no breaking at the waist!!–you start to tap into gravity and don’t have to work as hard. When you engage your core and lean forward, all you have to do is pick up your feet to keep up.

All you have to do is pick up your feet.

This has been my mantra for months and almost always works to bring me back into better form. Old habits die hard, don’t they?!

But, back to the point, this week is all about focusing on the lean, and I think this will be a good week for advancing my technique. I suspect that, once I start paying attention, I will find that I’m breaking at the waist more than I realize. This is bad because it ruins your postural alignment, puts stress on your lower back and generally throws off the whole form.  Here’s the plan.

Monday: Ashtanga Yoga

Tuesday: 35 minute form focus run

Wednesday: Rest!

Thursday: 35 minute form focus run + Yoga

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 5 mile LSD

Sunday: 30 minute fun run

At this point the schedule is virtually identical to the first two weeks. The midweek form interval runs start ramping up in Week 5 (meaning I start running a minimum of 45 minutes during the week), and after Week 8, things start getting really serious (hill runs, tempo runs, intervals, surges, etc., not to mention that by Week 8 my long run will be 9 miles and counting), so for now I’m enjoying a relatively laid back schedule. Not that it feels laid back right now, but after reading ahead last night I realize that it’s only going to get more and more challenging each week. But that’s okay–that’s what I signed up for, right?

What are your training goals this week?

What aspects of your form are you working on?

 

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Day 14: Sunday Funday 50 for 50 and Inspiration for Beyond

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Day 16: The Things You See « Ch'I Journey  |  October 18, 2012 at 9:33 am

    […] was Day 16 and a day of running for 35 minutes while working on my posture and forward lean. It was an okay run. My legs felt heavy and I was moving slow, but my upper body and core form felt […]

    Reply
  • 2. Carmel  |  October 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    i’m so excited to be following your journey! great tips on the ChiRunning — i am one that could use improvement on my running posture for sure. thanks for a great post!

    http://www.thelifeandvibesof.com
    -carmel

    Reply
    • 3. Steph  |  October 15, 2012 at 3:19 pm

      Thanks for following along Carmel! And glad the post could help!

      Reply
  • 4. David Stretanski  |  October 15, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Steph,
    Congrats on your progress towards your goals. Thank you for referencing my blog in this post. My blog is now hosted on my website at http://www.echifitness.com.

    Here is an intro video I thought you might like:
    – ChiRunning Simplified!, Efficient and Injury Free Natural Running Technique
    http://www.eChifitness.com/chirunningsimplified.html

    And here is a clarifying “land vs. load” blog post with some more current images:
    http://echifitness.com/blog/2011/06/28/running-landing-vs-loading-clarification/

    And here are a number of posts on the lean and gravity:
    http://echifitness.com/blog/category/physics-gravity/

    Thank you for sharing your ChiRunning experience on your blog.
    Enjoy!
    David

    PS. If you have not yet connected with Cheryl Lloyd, certified instructor in Reno NV … see her website at: http://movinginbalance.com

    Reply
    • 5. Steph  |  October 15, 2012 at 12:00 pm

      Thanks David! These are great resources! I do know Cheryl–I took a workshop several months ago and have been working to learn ChiRunning ever since. It’s been hard, but it’s coming along!

      Reply
  • 6. Chatter  |  October 15, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Looks like you have thought your goals out well. I find it so important to set my weekly goals and then on Sunday reflect and look back on them. Looks good. When I am running I find holding or pulling my abs in works wonders for good upright posture (learned and adapted from pilates). Have a good week.

    Reply
    • 7. Steph  |  October 15, 2012 at 11:55 am

      I agree–being mindful with this getting healthy business is so key! I never figured out to apply yoga principles to running until I started learning chi running. Using your core does indeed work wonders! Hope your week of training goes well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


