Day 14: Sunday Funday

October 14, 2012 at 2:00 pm 2 comments

For the 30 minute fun run scheduled for today D and I went up to one of the fancy neighborhoods in Reno to run on the Steamboat Ditch Trail. It’s a flat trail that runs along a now-dried up irrigation ditch; a nice respite from running roads but not too technical.

My legs were really tight and sore, and after a bit of a warm up the situation improved, but the whole run was challenging. We completed 2.5 miles in a half hour (12:21 pace).

One factor I realized as I was looking at the details of the run (thank you MapMyRun!) that may explain why the run was so hard was the elevation difference. Yesterday’s run at the Marina was at 4,400 feet, with virtually no elevation gain or loss. Today’s run started at almost 4,900, with a gain of at 200 feet over the run. That 500 feet plus the subtle elevation gain made a big difference!

But the run was another beautiful one. We got to see a taste of autumn in Reno. It’s beautiful here, in a high desert mountainy kind of way, but I always miss the fall foliage of home. There may be nothing better than fall in West Virginia, and it’s just not the same here.

At our turn around point we got to the overlook of the Patagonia Warehouse, a bunch of other warehouses, and a popular park by the Truckee River.

And there were some views of downtown Reno. You can faintly see the skyline.

So overall it was a decent run that lived up to its name. My form continues to improve each time I get out there. I am still battling my own inner demons and tendency to quit when the going gets tough, but so far I’ve triumphed each time and pushed through. No walking yet!

Today marks the end of 2 weeks of training for the Surf City Half. In that time I’ve run 8 days for a total of 23 miles. In the three weeks prior to starting training I ran a total of 11 miles during 6 runs. Hard to not be pleased with that progress.

I’ve got some exciting posts planned for this week, but for now I need to read Chi Marathon to see what Week 3 holds for me. Stay tuned…

Do you get to experience autumn where you live?

Nevermind, don’t tell me. I’ll get too jealous. :)

Entry filed under: Fun Run, Half Marathon Training. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Day 13: 4 Miles Half Marathon Training Week 3

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiare Vincent  |  October 14, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    gorgeous!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  October 14, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      Thanks! It was a great place to run!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


