Day 13: 4 Miles

October 13, 2012 at 3:24 pm 8 comments

Today was a long, slow distance run day. 4 miles. Done and done.

I was a little apprehensive going into it because I haven’t run more than a 5k distance since June 1st. Plus, with the recent struggles with my lower legs I didn’t know how I would feel.

I suited up and headed to the next town over to run around the Marina, a man-made water hole and park. I had never run there and it was very nice and pretty.

I chose it because running around the whole park is exactly 2 miles, so it would be a no-brainer of a run and I could instead focus on my posture and completing the run. Oh, and by the way, last week I said “that’s a wrap” on the posture form focuses, but I was wrong. This week’s goal was engaging the core, but the focuses were the same as last week–level your pelvis, lengthen your neck and spine, create a C shape with your posture, and feel your feet at the bottom of your column. Still the basic, but oh-so-critical elements.

So that’s what I thought about during the run–feet, pelvis, spine–and it turned out to be a good run!

Around 2.5 miles I started to feel fatigued, but whenever I felt myself getting tense I relaxed that area and just settled into the run. Relaxing is so key, tell you what. I think Body Sensing, relaxing and sticking to a few key form focuses is what allowed me to complete the 4 miles in 44 minutes (11 minute mile pace).

I’m totally content with that pace and even though there were a few moments during the run where I wanted to quit and was sure I couldn’t do it, I kept moving and got it done. It was also fun to run in a new place, and see all the people out and about, even though the air smelt faintly of dog poop the entire time. :)

Afterwards I stretched out under some trees by the water. One of my favorite things about the LSD runs might be the extra time afterward to stretch and take time to recover–as opposed to running before work or dinner. 

How did your longest run/workout go this week?

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, LSD, Posture. Tags: , , , , , .

Day 11: 1 + 1 = 2 Day 14: Sunday Funday

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  October 14, 2012 at 1:58 am

    Nice pics. My long run last week felt a bit crap, hoping this weeks is better.

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  October 14, 2012 at 9:19 am

      I hope so too!

      Reply
  • 3. Chatter  |  October 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    Cool place, good run. You know how my longest run went, finished 5k distance for the first time, slowly at 55 minutes. Have a good rest of the weekend.

    Reply
    • 4. Steph  |  October 14, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Thanks! you too!

      Reply
  • 5. 65tomoonlight  |  October 13, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    sounds like a good run in a beautiful place with great weather and fantastic results, what more could you ask for……

    On Sat, Oct 13, 2012 at 6:24 PM, Ch’I Journey

    Reply
    • 6. Steph  |  October 14, 2012 at 9:17 am

      not much!

      Reply
  • 7. grackleandsun  |  October 13, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    That’s a pretty run.

    Reply
    • 8. Steph  |  October 14, 2012 at 9:17 am

      I know! I was pleasantly surprised.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


