Day 11: 1 + 1 = 2

October 12, 2012 at 9:54 am 9 comments

2 workouts on Day 11. Running in the morning and yoga in the evening. How’d it go?

Well, I don’t know why, but my Thursday runs never feel that great. I always feel extra stiff and struggle to get into a rhythm with my movement and breath. Yesterday morning I felt like I was bouncing and stomping down the road, but I managed to pull out 2.7 miles in 30 minutes, about a half minute faster than my Tuesday pace. I was definitely pushing it the last mile, alternating my focus on leveling my pelvis and lengthening my neck. When going faster I didn’t do a great job keeping my form though, so there’s still much work to be done.

Then yoga last night ended up being a good, albeit different class than I was planning for. The class was focused on lots of hip openers and twists, rather than vinyasas or working through a series of poses a la Ashtanga style. But it was a great change up from my recent yoga experiences and I had a breakthrough! I was finally able to do side crow. I couldn’t hold it for very long, but I could get into the pose on both sides!

Source

I’m sure I didn’t look like that, but I’ve been trying to get into this pose for months now and my flexibility and strength are finally allowing me to do so! I can’t wait to keep practicing and get to the point where I can do this:

Source

Onward and upward. Resting today, 4 miles on Saturday, and fun run on Sunday. Stay tuned….

Have you had a yoga breakthrough? What pose?

Why is my second run of the week always so rough? Do you experience something similar?

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Yoga. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Day 10: Rest Day 13: 4 Miles

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Fritz  |  October 12, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    I conquered the corpse pose, then the mountain pose. Still struggling with Tree! :)

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  October 13, 2012 at 8:51 am

      Those are all great fundamentals to conquer! I definitely still struggle with Tree and Corpse pose as well.

      Reply
  • 3. grackleandsun  |  October 12, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Side crow, eh? Woot! That’s fantastic. (wanders off to see if that’s even possible to do without breaking something…)

    Reply
    • 4. Steph  |  October 13, 2012 at 8:53 am

      Pfff…with your office chair workouts I bet you could nail side crow in a heartbeat! Both pictures link back to websites that describe how to get into the pose safely though. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Chatter  |  October 12, 2012 at 11:08 am

    I tend to stick to Pilates myself. Don’t know enough to give you advice on your run predicament. At least you are getting out there and doing it.

    Reply
    • 6. Steph  |  October 12, 2012 at 11:16 am

      Pilates is great! Maybe one day you will venture into the yoga realm…the Pilates will have provided you with a good foundation. :) thanks, and yes, I am getting out there and that continues to be a big victory, and I guess some days are just not as great.

      Reply
      • 7. Chatter  |  October 12, 2012 at 11:18 am

        You could try and make the Thursdays a junk or easy run day where miles, pace and everything else do not matter, you just go out and run.

        Reply
        • 8. Steph  |  October 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

          Not a bad idea. I think that’s a good mindset for every run, except maybe the long run days.

          Reply
          • 9. Chatter  |  October 13, 2012 at 9:04 pm

            That and speed work days.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


