Day 10: Rest

October 10, 2012 at 9:52 am Leave a comment

Today, ten days into the half marathon training, I am resting! I love rest days. I have a natural proclivity toward laziness, so it’s not hard to convince me to rest. I am certainly not one of those people who have to force themselves to rest because they just love working out; I am rarely “itching” to work out and I generally crave pizza and chicken wings way more than running. However, now that I have been sticking to my training I can be lazy rest guilt-free. Hoorah!

And I need the rest. I’ve been logging some miles–not huge numbers–but more than I have since completing the Reno Tahoe Odyssey, and my poor lower legs are desperately trying to keep up. As I wrote a few weeks ago, I’ve been struggling with lower leg pain. It’s getting better, but I’m not quite over the hump. At first I thought my form was to blame, and while I still need to work on relaxing my legs while running (and stretching!!!), I now think that my peroneals and other lower leg tendons are so sore because they’re simply being used more than ever. Standing on one leg, over and over again, will do that to you. So, taking the advice of my Thai masseuse (who I saw again last night–LOVE Thai Massage!!), I am going to integrate one-legged balance poses into every day life to continue to strengthen my legs and ankles.

This morning I washed my hair standing on one leg and I stood in tree pose while brushing my teeth. Now I just need to remember to do that while washing dishes, preparing Susan’s food, waiting for lunch to heat up, etc. Fun stuff.

And, to get more random, here is a list of what I’ve been up to since my long run on Saturday.

1. Sunday Fun Run downtown. 2.8 miles in 30 minutes. Slowly but surely getting faster and stronger. Sweet! I took these pictures last winter, but these are some sights I saw before getting to the river. Love Reno.

2. Hanging out with my mom (who is now blogging here), who was visiting last weekend. We went shopping, went to the university football game, watched a ton of football on tv–you know, usual fall activities.

3. Dressing Susan up in her Oakland Raiders cheerleading outfit and taking family portraits. I mean, wouldn’t you?

4. Monday Astanga Yoga. Sweaty and awesome. Slowly but surely getting stronger there too.

5. Thai Massage. LOVE IT. Go get one. I wish I could have one every day.

6. Form focus intervals in the cold morning. 3 miles of thinking about leveling my pelvis and feeling my feet as the roots of my strong column. And seeing the sunrise.

That’s about it for now. Tomorrow is a two-a-day kind of day. Running in the morning and yoga in the evening. Then 4 miles on Saturday! Stay tuned….

What sort of random things have you been up to?

What do you like to do on rest days?

Entry filed under: Half Marathon Training, Lower Leg, Rest. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Days 4-6: Building the Foundation Day 11: 1 + 1 = 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


