Yoga Post Test

October 2, 2012 at 9:13 am 1 comment

In June, about a month before I started this blog, I bought a 3 month unlimited yoga pass to the Yoga Loka studio. A few weeks later my teacher Jen took some pictures of me during an Ashtanga practice and I posted them in here. Well, my 3 month pass expired last week and I asked Jen to take pictures again as  sort of yoga post-test. So here goes nothing…

Down Dog Pre

Post

My shoulders are a little more open and less in my ears now. Things to fix: crooked hips and my pinkies are too wide.

Upward Facing Dog Pre 

Post

The big thing I can see is my neck is a lot longer. Overall my upward facing dog feels much different from three months ago. A lot of that is due to the private session I had with Jen, and just more practice. I feel a lot stronger, less awkward, and like I’m using my legs and core more than my lower back. Therefore this pose doesn’t hurt like it used to. But I still need to work on cranking my shoulders back.

Warrior 1 Pre

Post

A big improvement here is that my shoulders aren’t glued to my ears and they look a bit more squared to the front wall. I can’t really tell if my hips are starting to come around, but I’m sure there’s been some improvement there too.  (sorry for the picture quality–the sun was starting to go down but the flash didn’t go off. These are phone pics after all.)

Wide legged forward bend Pre (not sure if that’s the technical term :)

Headstand Prep/Wide legged forward bend Post

Obviously these are two different poses, but part of the same series. Here’s where I can really see the weight loss over the last few months and the changes in my legs. Remembering back to doing tripod prep when the first picture was taken, I definitely couldn’t get my head down, so flexibility is clearly improving.

So that’s my yoga pre- and post-test. Jen and I were talking about doing this every 3 or 6 months, so stay tuned, maybe I’ll ask her for some more pictures in January.

Any other poses that you think would be good to see pre and post?

Entry filed under: Yoga. Tags: , , , , , , .

Half Marathon Training Week 1 Day 2: Alignment and Time Trial

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. YogaEssence  |  October 3, 2012 at 8:07 am

    Love the pre and post pics!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


