Half Marathon Training Week 1

October 1, 2012 at 5:00 am 18 comments

So it begins.

Last week was pretty mellow–one yoga class and one run–but now I am starting my 16 week training plan, and the Surf City Half Marathon is in 16 weeks.

No Slacking Allowed.

The Chi Running training plan that I’m going to follow incorporates practicing the Chi Running form focuses (posture, lean, pelvic rotation, lower body, arm swing, gears) with a typical training plan that slowly increases my distance.

The first 8 weeks are all about nailing the technique and then the last 8 weeks are about working on conditioning and getting used to running long distances. For strength training in the meantime I’ll be doing yoga twice a week. As time goes on I may need to get back into the gym or pool for additional cardio/strength, but for now I’m not going that route.

Here’s the plan for Week 1. The Chi Running focus is posture. Always good to go back to basics.

Monday: Ashtanga Yoga

Tuesday: Form focus intervals for 30 minutes (1 minute on/1 minute off). 1 mile time trial: I’ll run one mile at an easy pace and time myself; then that will be my pace for the long run.

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 30-40 minute form focus intervals in the morning. Yoga in the evening

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 3 mile long run at the easy pace with 5 minute form focus intervals

Sunday: 30 minute fun run

For now I’m going to stick with what the Chi Marathon book recommends, but there will probably be days where I have to get the fun run done on Mondays, especially once ski season starts.

So, that’s it. No slacking allowed. No slacking allowed. No slacking allowed. I think I’ve found my mantra for the next fourt months. Stay tuned…

What half marathon training plan do you use?

 

Entry filed under: Chi Running, Half Marathon Training. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Race Recap: Color Me Rad Yoga Post Test

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Week 6 Training Plan « Ch'I Journey  |  November 14, 2012 at 11:22 am

    […] rolls on and I am now in Week 6 of my 16 week half marathon training program. The form focus this week is upper body: arm swing, upper body posture, head and neck alignment, […]

    Reply
  • 2. Megan@ Run Like a Grl  |  October 1, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    Yayy congrats on starting your half marathon training!! I’d love to hear more about the Chi running form I think thats so interesting.

    Reply
    • 3. Steph  |  October 2, 2012 at 8:35 am

      Thanks Megan! Chi Running helped me a lot so far.

      Reply
  • 4. John  |  October 1, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Sounds like a good plan, good luck.

    Reply
    • 5. Steph  |  October 1, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks John!

      Reply
  • 6. ejmaldonado  |  October 1, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Great stuff Steph! I’m so excited for you. Funny that I read this entry today… I was in the middle of writing mine regarding the changes made to my training regimen. Great minds;)

    You’re gonna do great! I know it.

    Reply
    • 7. Steph  |  October 1, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks EJ! When I get into the conditioning phase I’m sure I’ll hit you up for some advice!

      Reply
      • 8. ejmaldonado  |  October 1, 2012 at 1:47 pm

        You got it! Anything I can do to be helpful… I’m here:)

        Reply
  • 9. projectwhitespace  |  October 1, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Hey there–I found you on the #SPA facebook page. I saw you are training for your first half and thought I’d stop over. This is so exciting, isn’t it? I have never heard of the Chi marathon training–I do yoga, but not as much as I’d like, and so this sounds very intriguing to me.
    Good luck! If you ever need inspiration you can search “marathon mentality” on my blog, or connect via facebook–I’d love to encourage you if I can! (My first half was last year, my first full in October).
    SPA love!

    Reply
    • 10. Steph  |  October 1, 2012 at 1:18 pm

      Thanks Bethany! Chi Running is really great and may help with your running form if you have any chronic injuries. Great to connect and good luck with your upcoming marathon! SPA love!

      Reply
      • 11. projectwhitespace  |  October 2, 2012 at 3:59 pm

        SPA love! I don’t have any chronic injuries (yet–fingers crossed), but it sounds like something I should do even just to double check my form. Thanks for the explanation, by the way. :-)

        Reply
  • 12. Jenna  |  October 1, 2012 at 10:42 am

    Great job getting yourself set up with a plan! You’ll do wonderfully with it! Even tho I haven’t trained for a half, you look like youre all set!!! Best of luck! Spa love!

    Reply
    • 13. Steph  |  October 1, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Thanks Jenna!

      Reply
  • 14. Caroline  |  October 1, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Sounds like you have a fun plan outlined here! I got shin splints training for my first half marathon, so this time around I’m only running two days a week and doing lots of cross training. I’m hoping this makes a difference. It’s nice you have so many weeks to slowly increase mileage too! Hopefully that’ll help you avoid injury. Good luck and have fun training!

    Reply
    • 15. Steph  |  October 1, 2012 at 10:02 am

      Thanks Caroline! I’m doing all I can to avoid shin splints–a problem I’ve always had running. So far the Chi Running technique has helped me tremendously. Good luck to you too!

      Reply
  • 16. Chatter  |  October 1, 2012 at 6:40 am

    I assume a fun run is the same as a recovery or easy run? Basically no pressure to do anything, just run?

    Reply
    • 17. Steph  |  October 1, 2012 at 7:01 am

      Exactly!

      Reply
      • 18. Chatter  |  October 2, 2012 at 1:50 pm

        I started with the couch to 5k and after I was able to run a very slow 30 minutes I started to create my own run program. I found mixing these in plus a speed and long run worked awesomely. I am up to a very slow 50 minute assumed 5k pace. Of course these are also great for nights when i want to go running but I have nothing planned.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


