Race Recap: Color Me Rad

September 27, 2012 at 9:48 am 7 comments

Last Saturday was the 5k Color Me Rad race here in Reno. I ran it with D, two local friends and three of their friends who came into town for it. We named our team The Gary Buseys, and we had a lot of team pride.

For those who aren’t familiar, these color runs are gaining in popularity and are being held all over the country. As you run the course, you go through Color Bomb stations where volunteers throw colored corn starch at you or spray you with colored water. At the finish line you’re given your own packet of color to either dump all over your friends (as I did) or you save it and do a big group color bomb at the end. You can also buy packets of color to get festive before the race, but we weren’t that cool.

In terms of the actual race, it went well, but I have no idea how long it took us. The course, which was on the local university campus, was crowded the whole way and in general the festivities were very distracting, but really fun and hilarious. I tried focusing on my form, but really I’m not sure if I stuck with it or not. After about half way through I was already feeling a little winded–so I think we were keeping a good pace?!–and my focus became finishing, staying calm and breathing. Even though I strayed from my training plan a little bit in the weeks running up to it, having the plan helped tremendously and I felt sufficiently strong and prepared.

Overall it was super fun. It was nice to run a no-pressure event, and be more concerned with ‘getting colored,’ keeping track of all the teammates, and yelling out “Gary Busey Whoo!” than worrying about finish time. Oh but do try to remember to keep your mouth closed going through the color bomb stations. Just saying.

I didn’t take any pictures except a few before and afters with my phone, which don’t do the mess justice, but a teammate did have a camera and I will update this post later with those photos when he sends them to me.

Before.

After.

Gary Busey Face!

The only downside to these color runs? Cleaning up. We didn’t linger at the race too long but the color apparently saturated our skin quickly and it took some serious scrubbing to get clean. But would I do this again? Absolutely.

Have you run a color run? Any tips for cleaning up without scrubbing off a layer of skin?

Entry filed under: Race. Tags: , , , , , , , .

If Your Legs Hurt, You’re Doing It Wrong Half Marathon Training Week 1

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  September 27, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Congrats to you and D. Looks like fun and. Great story to tell….

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Fritz  |  September 27, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I’m not so sure about the color thing (I’m old, after all!), but congrats on your first race!!!! :)

    Reply
    • 3. Steph  |  September 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks Jane! Now now, no excuses! :)

      Reply
  • 4. grackleandsun  |  September 27, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Gary Busey face. Wow. Lolz.
    Looks like a lot of fun!

    Reply
    • 5. Steph  |  September 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      Any excuse to make a Gary Busey face!

      Reply
  • 6. Chatter  |  September 27, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I don’t know why, but I really want to try one of these.

    Reply
    • 7. Steph  |  September 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      You should! Very fun and no pressure, but good practice for more serious races.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


