Lovely Blogs

September 12, 2012 at 9:57 am 2 comments

This post is long overdue. Last week, Jane at Robby Robin’s Journey kindly nominated me for the ‘One Lovely Blog Award.’

I am very thankful that Jane thought of me when passing on this award. It’s my first blog award! I especially appreciate it that it came from Jane, who writes a variety of well-written, creative and touching posts, and who has been very encouraging of me. We are both practicing Chi Running and she is training for her 2nd marathon, which is very inspiring. I know she’s going to do great at the upcoming Chicago Marathon!

In accepting the award, I have to do a few things.

The Rules of Acceptance:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to his/her blog in your post.
  2. Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
  3. Nominate bloggers you admire.
  4. Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know and link back to them.

Having thanked Jane (hopefully sufficiently enough), I’m first going to talk about some bloggers I admire. I haven’t been in the blogosphere for very long, but these are some blogs that I enjoy reading.

Fit for a Year. John is a steady blogger about all things fitness and running. He’s also learning Chi Running and we commiserate. He has been a consistent reader of my blog and I really appreciate it!

Journey to Awesomehood. Cassy writes really great posts about her…duh…journey to awesomehood. I like her blog not only because we both are on a “journey” but also because of her honesty, enthusiasm and commitment to healthy-living, but in a real way (not in a scary obsessive way).

I found Grackle and Sun when Dre started writing about her Office Chair Workouts–can we say NO EXCUSES?!–but in discovering the rest of her blog I found beautiful prose about her passions. I really enjoy it.

Megan over at Run Like a Grl was one of the first running blogs I started following and I really like her posts because she’s an accomplished runner, but being so down to earth, she doesn’t make you feel inferior. Her blog is also where I first learned about #sweatpink and Fit Approach. Now I’m exited to say she’s a fellow sweatpink sister!

So those are the four blogs I’m going to nominate for the One Lovely Blog award. Check them out!

And now, Seven Things You Don’t Know About Me (probably, unless you know me in real life).

1. I used to be a competitive alpine ski racer.

2. I don’t eat olives.

3. I do research for a non-profit that works with juvenile and family court judges. Our research looks at how judges can improve outcomes for children who have been abused or neglected.

4. I’m about 1,000 miles overdue for an oil change. Ack!!

5. My passion is working with individuals and families experiencing homelessness.

6. I have lived in seven different states, and in every time zone in the continental US.

7. I used to be scared of running, and positive that I couldn’t do it.

So, there you have it, a few of the blogs I enjoy reading and a few random facts. I’ll be back later this week with a running update and maybe some Chi Running wisdom! Stay tuned…

Entry filed under: Awards, Blog lovin. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Sweating Pink! Picking a Half Marathon

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cassy  |  September 19, 2012 at 8:04 am

    YEE! Thanks so much for the shout out!! =D Thanks for saying I am not scary obsessive! LOL Once again, sorry I am so late for responding! Been so busy with planning epic road trip and then going on epic road trip.

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Fritz  |  September 12, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Hi Steph. Great post. Thanks for the appreciation notes. I love your answers. I also don’t eat olives; we’re clearly both discriminating eaters! Your work must be really rewarding, although also emotionally stressful. Running should help that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


