Sweating Pink!

September 11, 2012 at 5:00 am Leave a comment

Well, I am officially back from vacation and getting right into the swing of things.

We returned Saturday night and Sunday morning I went for a run. My first in….9 days….ack! Although I didn’t run at all on vacation I took long walks on the beach (seriously), went swimming and kayaking, and “tried” surfing (I paddled on a board for a while and then rode it into shore on my stomach). So even though I didn’t run, I was marginally active, but going into Sunday’s run I was a little nervous about how I would hold up. It was a bit of a rough run–I was pretty winded during my run intervals–but I ran/walked just over 3 miles and didn’t feel sore Monday.

Monday morning that crazy thing happened again. You know, that thing where you wake up wanting to go run? Well, it happened to me for the first time a few weeks ago and it was shocking. Taking my newfound inspiration, I decided to set my timer for 25 minutes and just see how far I could get, or to see how fast I could run two miles, whichever came first. After warming up (deep breathing, joint looseners) I set off and it felt good. I rotated through the chi focuses–picking up my feet, midfoot strike, posture, core, arm swing–and alternated between listening to the metronome and rocking out to 80s pop. I finished my run at just under an 11 1/2 minute pace. Not too bad, considering it’s only a half minute slower than the pace I ran my first leg of the Reno Tahoe Odyssey, and it’s about a minute and a half faster than the first mile I chi ran about a month ago.

Patience and persistence pays off. But I tell you what, those first few months are so hard! Patience is SO hard. But now I’m continuing to feel good and inspired by my progress.

Another inspiration that’s lit another fire for me is pretty exciting. See that badge on the top right side of the page that says I’M A SWEATPINK AMBASSADOR? Well, that’s right, I’m now a Sweatpink Ambassador, with Fit Approach, which means that I’ve joined an awesome community of women who stay healthy and active and who, for the most part, blog about it. I’m really excited to see where this will take the blog, and I’m extra excited about the built in community support and added accountability. So far everyone has been very welcoming and I’m looking forward to spending some time reading new blogs and getting a better feel for my fellow SPAs (Sweatpink Ambassadors). Onward and upward, while #sweatingpink!

Speaking of reading blogs, my next post will highlight some of my favorite go-to’s since I started this blog two months ago. So stay tuned…

Entry filed under: Chi Running, sweatpink. Tags: , , , , , , .

Brought to you by Lovely Blogs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


