Why Chi Running?

August 31, 2012 at 10:34 am 2 comments

I’ve become a Chi Running convert not just for the injury free running–sure, that is totally awesome–but because I am also seeking a larger connection between my body and mind. At the beginning of this year I was fed up with feeling like I had no control over my body and no tools for changing that. The cleanse I did in February helped me start to learn more about nutrition and food as fuel, and I was hoping my training for the Reno Tahoe Odyssey would help me connect more with my body. To a large extent it didn’t and instead showed me that I had a lot of work to do to reach my goals in terms of weight management specifically and healthy living and balance more generally. Chi Running arrived in my consciousness as exactly what I was looking for.

I bought the Chi Marathon book recently. Even though I haven’t finished the Chi Running book yet I heard there were training programs in the book and figured I would go ahead and add it to my library. So far I really like it because it outlines the Chi Running approach to a training program for a marathon, and whether you want to run a marathon or not, preparing for such an endeavor will naturally have positive effects on the rest of your life.

So now, since I’m traveling (I’m currently in the Denver airport on a 3 hour layover)I’d like to share a passage that really inspired me this morning. (i apologize in advance for any typos).

“The unifying of mind and body can be seen on many levels in the ChiRunning programs.

Alignment, relaxation, leaning, allowing gravity to move you forward: all of the Form Focuses in ChiRunning have a mental and emotional correlation to being successful at any long-term endeavor. The deep core of your body is where your deepest dreams reside, along with the power to make them real. When you strengthen the physical center of your body, you are also strengthening your ability to be centered emotionally. When you learn a new Form Focus, you are also strengthening your mind’s ability to stay focused on your goal. When your physical center is strong, it allows the rest of your body to b relaxed, flexible, and responsive to whatever comes your way. When you have a goal to accomplish, you will be most successful when you are strong in your resolve but flexible and responsive to the daily influences that can ultimately create or undermine success.

Alignment in the physical sense means getting your head, shoulders, hips, ankles in alignment. On another level you are aligning your vision, feelings, and desires with the physical movement of your body to create truly unified movement” (p.26).

I think this passage sums up nicely why I’m so into Chi Running and why it was necessary to start a blog about learning it. It’s not just running. It’s mind and body and it will help me achieve my healthy-living lifestyle goals.

I’m a month and a half in and I’m starting to see the effects. There’s a lot more work to be done, but I can’t wait to see where it will take me.

Entry filed under: Chi Running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

You Might Be A Runner If… It’s Hard to Blog on Vacation

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  September 12, 2012 at 8:37 am

    I’m the same as you Steph, I’ve not finished the book but am seeing the effects. I smile a lot more when running, well I try to anyway! But not in some mad weird way I hope!

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Fritz  |  August 31, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    I like your ending!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


