Color Me Rad

August 17, 2012 at 9:51 am 5 comments

Well, I did it. Taking the advice of Jane that signing up for races can instill motivation, I signed up for the Color Me Rad 5k race here in Reno in September (thanks to a Groupon the registration was 50% off! score!). It’s on the 22nd, so I have just over 5 weeks to get ready for a 5k. Shouldn’t be too hard, but it will require some consistent focus and purposeful training.

I’m running the race with D, a girlfriend and one of her friends. And anyone else who wants to join our team. Our team name is The Gary Buseys. Random and hilarious. This allows me to run looking like this, which I might definitely do anyway:

My girlfriend and I are going to train together for it, which should be extra help in the motivation department. And to be sure I’m ready, I googled “5 weeks to a 5k training plan” and found a bunch of options. I picked one from Spark People, a website I recently discovered but haven’t joined (what do you think? Should I?) This is the training plan I came up with: 5 weeks to 5K.

It’s pretty much the same as the template from Spark People but it is in calendar form and includes the days I will be resting, doing yoga and travelling to the East Coast for my vacation coming up in a few weeks (!!). I picked this plan because it will force me to focus on running time, not distance, which I know is a good way to approach training but it’s hard not to become mileage-obsessed. This plan will help me build endurance and get used to just running for the length of time needed to complete a 5k (assuming I start running a little faster mile).

I also think it includes a gradual progression that would be Chi Running approved. The Chi Running rule is that you shouldn’t increase your running program by any more than 10% each week. So no jumping from 1 mile to 2 miles in a few days or even a week. Some of the programs I found started you out running 2 miles a day and I’m not there yet. Some others also included more aggressive interval training and speed work, which I’m not interested in right now. Intervals are great, and this plan includes walk/run intervals, but I’m just not ready for speed work and I don’t want to do serious weight training. So this is what I’ve settled on, but am I missing anything? How do you train for a race? Any great tips for a 5 week-5k training plan?

Entry filed under: 5k Training, Chi Running, Motivation, Race. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Stop Reading This and Get Yourself a Ball Chair Do the Twist

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Picking a Half Marathon: Part 2 « Ch'I Journey  |  September 14, 2012 at 10:03 am

    […] perfect because I am wrapping up my 5k training and can begin training for the half right after the Color Me Rad next week. The training program consists of 4 runs a week, each with different […]

    Reply
  • 2. You Might Be A Runner If… « Ch'I Journey  |  August 30, 2012 at 9:12 am

    […] with both my Chi Running form and my general cardio. I’m building up to three miles for the Color Me Rad, and I’ve got one more run this week to round out week 2 of my 5 week training plan. D and I […]

    Reply
  • 3. grackleandsun  |  August 17, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Awesome!

    Reply
  • 4. QVT  |  August 17, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Yay! Glad you’re doing it! Been meaning to sign up for this one..

    Reply
    • 5. Steph  |  August 17, 2012 at 10:38 am

      There’s still time to sign up if you want, and you can join our team! Be a Gary Busey with us!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


