Stop Reading This and Get Yourself a Ball Chair

August 16, 2012 at 8:33 am 4 comments

Seriously. If you are sitting on a regular old chair, and you happen to sit in that chair at least 6 hours a day, you should go here and buy this chair. (I’m not getting paid to promote this chair. I just think it’s awesome).

One of my first posts on this blog was about the research I did to find this chair and a bit of a comparison between models.  As I wrote then, there are other models out there that are slightly cheaper–I think the cheapest I’ve seen is around $60–but I like the Isokinetics chair because it is height adjustable, both for the legs and the back rest (which you don’t really use), and the frame is visually appealing and not plastic. Those are just my preferences, but I do think the adjustable height is important.

Now, at $85 it’s not small beans, but in terms of what office chairs cost this is very affordable. If you’re not versed in the office chair retail market (I wasn’t/am not), it may still hurt your wallet at first but your health is worth it, right? Yes, your health is worth an awesome ball chair that strengthens your core and back while you sit at work all week long.

I bought my chair right after I wrote Death By Chair and it arrived about 5 days later. It was really easy to assemble and, for better or worse, I followed the directions that said to pump up the ball to 85% maximum width and let it sit for 24 hours before pumping it up to 100% width (52 cm). I guess the ball can warp if blown up and used too fast.

I think total time of assembly was less than 5 minutes. Pumping up the ball took a little bit longer. My chair showed up right before my trip, so I didn’t get to sit in it until the beginning of August and was thinking about it the whole time I was working in Oregon and sitting in non ball chairs.

I’m now in my second week of using it every day at work.  Aaand I love it. The first few days after about 6 hours I switched back to my old chair because my back was tired. Now I can sit in it all day long just fine.

It does require some acceptance of basic posture, though. What I mean by that is that I’m used to crossing my legs, putting my feet up on the legs of my old chair, crossing my ankles, etc. When you cross your legs or try to do anything but keep your feet flat on the ground, it sends your spine and hips into contortions that aren’t very comfortable. It used to be comfortable in a regular chair but not on the ball. So in the moments when I’m feeling fidgety or tired or just wanting to resort to my “comfort poses” the ball chair can be challenging. Sometimes I tap out and sit in my old chair. Other times I just push through.

Another benefit of the chair has shown up in my walking. I’m now walking more consistently with proper posture. In the first few days of using the chair, when I would get up and walk around my spine would self-adjust itself. An extra bonus between chiropractor visits! And, of course, being able to keep my core engaged while I’m working is helping my chi running too.  Anything to make my core and back stronger = a better lean and proper chi running technique. Win win.

All in all, you should really go get that ball chair now. Your body will thank you.

Entry filed under: Ball Chair, Chi Running, Posture. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly Color Me Rad

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cassy  |  August 17, 2012 at 6:56 am

    I am definitely really tempted to invest in one of these! I find myself all too often slouching in my chair. :/

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  August 17, 2012 at 8:07 am

      I think it’s a very worthwhile investment Cassy! Plus, no harm in getting some passive exercise done while sitting. :)

      Reply
  • 3. John  |  August 16, 2012 at 9:25 am

    I’ve never seen one of those before. It ties in nicely with my post today, http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/death-by-desk-job-how-to-fight-it/

    Reply
    • 4. Steph  |  August 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

      It sure does! Good reason for me to not entirely ditch my old chair.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


