I’m running! I run!

August 11, 2012 at 2:23 pm 2 comments

What About Bob anybody? Yes? No?

Anyway.

I had a great workout this morning. I warmed up at home with some outdoor yoga on my back patio, which in itself was a great way to start the day. Then D and I went to a nearby park that has a skatepark so D could practice his number one favorite activity. He likes to get there early before all the kiddos show up and he can be the old man in the park all on his own. :)  Once we go there, D started skating and I took off to walk and run. My goal was to run a complete mile and to walk a little extra.

After some walk/run warm ups for about a quarter mile I pulled up the Perfect Cadence metronome and started running and it was….awesome! Why?!

  1. The metronome allowed me to ignore my stride length (since I could trust that my stride length would be short) and focus on everything else.
  2. I could feel my core engaged when I played with my degree of lean, and I trusted my core to do the job.
  3. My ankles and legs were relaxed and when they tensed up I was able to relax them.
  4. Because of 1 and 2, I then started playing with my pelvis rotation and arm swing and could feel it all come together.

I ran around the park and the adjoining neighborhood and reveled in how easy it felt. Granted, I was going really, really slow (like a 13 minute mile), but for the first time when I felt pain in my shins or calves I was able to adjust my form and get rid of the pain, all while continuing to run and keep the principles in line.

And the whole time I kept thinking about Bill Murray being strapped to a sailboat mast while yelling “I’m sailing! I’m sailing! I sail!” Except, of course, I run! I’m running! I’m a runner! (Sidenote: in 3rd grade I filled out an “About Me” form for school and listed What About Bob as my favorite movie.)

But back to the run. A while back I wrote about getting back to the basics of learning chi running and vowed I would write about my systematic work through the form focuses Danny Dryer outlines in his book. The first form focus is posture. I’ve written about that sufficiently. The second form focus is the lean and something I’ve been struggling with so far. I know how to lean, I know how far to lean but the problem comes in execution, which then comes down to core strength. So in every yoga class this week and now, all day long at work because I’m sitting on my ball chair (review pending), I am being conscious of my core and working on getting stronger. And being mindful of that is already helping, which I felt this morning.

Between my breakthrough in yoga this week and my breakthrough in running today this has been an exciting end to a week that started pretty low. While I hate feeling down on myself for lack of exercise or poor eating, it’s those moments that have the greatest potential to uplift and motivate. I’ve generally gotten used to this cycle. It’s keeping the motivation up while I’m still on an up that I need to engrain now.

Oh and here some pictures I took while walking around in the rose garden after running this morning. A nice way to cool down.

And here’s my cute boyfriend skating.  :)

Stay tuned while I work through the last few exercises on the next form focus: lower body.

Entry filed under: Body Sensing, Chi Running, Morning Workout, Motivation, Practice, Running, Stride. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Day 4 Breakfast Shake The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  August 12, 2012 at 4:02 am

    Trying to do the same, I’ve been focussing on keeping my ankles relaxed and focus on my breathing.

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  August 12, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      Those are key elements John! Good luck and I’m staying tuned into your progress too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


