Day 4 Breakfast Shake

August 10, 2012 at 8:48 am 2 comments

It’s day 4 of The Cleanse.

I’m feeling pretty good so far, albeit slightly hungry all the time. That’s not entirely true, but my body is yelling at me to satiate all the cravings that I normally cave in to. It will pass. Hopefully. Anyway. Want to see my breakfast? Prepare yourself for the jealousy that’s about to course through your veins. Here’s all the shake ingredients before:

And here’s my breakfast after:

I know. Sooo exciting and delicious. Sorry for making you hungry.

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk

1 1/2 cup water and a handful of ice cubes

5-6 medium size strawberries (sometimes I put more in I’m just rationing myself and I didn’t have any other berries on hand. Also didn’t work out this morning but normally I would throw a banana in if I had)

1 scoop fiber

2 scoops protein (the products I historically use I get from my chiropractor but I am going to try out a new brand: Sun Warrior, Warrior Blend Protein, chocolate flavor!)

1 scoop paleo greens (ditto above, and the new brand will be: Garden of Life, Perfect Raw Food, Organic Green Super Food)

1/2 packet of Stevia

Throw it all in, blend for at least one minute, and enjoy, thoroughly. Preferably in a mason jar.

In other news, I had a Fantastic yoga class last night with The Funkmeister. It started out pretty bad, my mind was scattered and I felt really tight but by the end things had turned around completely. I felt strong and had a few breakthroughs with my tree pose, with relaxing my glutes in a variety of poses, with engaging my core and, most importantly, with my savasana. I think I finally experienced what savasana is supposed to be all about. At first my mind was racing but I focused on my breath and after a few minutes realized I had gone down a layer and my body felt like a solid block beneath me, completely connected to the ground and my head was just floating above my body connected by a string. I reveled in the feeling and then went a layer deeper. After a bit I popped back up and only knew it because I could hear the fan across the room more clearly than before. Then I slowly came out of the pose but I didn’t experience a huge shift and instead carried it all with me. It was really, really cool. I felt so rooted and at peace and like I had finally completed my practice properly. I can’t wait to do it again.

Does that sound like the way savasana is supposed to go?

Today is a rest day but I want to get a class in this weekend and try the savasana again. Stay tuned.

Entry filed under: Food, Practice, Relaxation, The Cleanse, Yoga. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Cleansing, or Back on the Wagon Part Deux I’m running! I run!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Fritz  |  August 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    I like your description of your experience with the savasana. So THAT’s what I’m trying to achieve! If you can translate that feeling to your running you’ll be all set!

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  August 12, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      I think you’re right Jane! I did some yoga before my run this weekend and I think it helped alot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


