Back on the wagon

August 8, 2012 at 9:31 am 2 comments

Welp, I hope it’s not too premature to say that I’m back on the wagon now. Last night I went to yoga and this morning I did run/walk intervals for a mile and a half around my new neighborhood. I’m planning on yoga tonight as well.

How did it feel? Very tight, tense and not all that great, but that’s the price I pay for going so long without doing anything. It feels like I’m constantly taking one step forward and two steps back–I’ll be on my game and working out for a few weeks and then all of a sudden a week or more goes by without any activity and I have to work just to get back to square one…But, at the same time, each time I get back on the horse I’m more aware of my body and my short term goals are a little clearer.

Last night’s yoga was a very chill mindful flow class, which was exactly what I needed to start getting my feet wet again. My downdog felt pretty off–my shoulders are pretty wrecked from travelling and moving–but we did a lot of hip openers and forward folds so I was able to kind of play around in different areas.

The morning run had its good and bad moments. It was a bit of a warm up run to work on the chi skills and form focuses that I remember and to, again, play around with where my body is right now. My lean felt pretty good but I was having a lot of trouble relaxing. I would run about a quarter mile and then walk to try to relax and get loose. I also had to concentrate on my stride length and making sure I wasn’t reaching out in front of me too much. The relaxing thing continues to be such a challenge though. I had no idea it would be so hard for me and I can really tell such a huge difference in my running; I start out relaxed and loose and then my whole body tenses up and running immediately feels different. So I suppose on one hand my body sensing is developing, but now I just have to make the connection between mind and body to truly, truly relax.

I’ve been watching the Olympic runners and keep hearing over and over again from the commentators how relaxed the winners are. I’ve also heard commentators talk about the runners’ forward leans, which is something I would have never noticed or understood prior to all this chi running business.

Another plus to the morning run was exploring the new neighborhood. I ran down streets I didn’t even know about and look forward to exploring even more. I’ll have to amp up my mileage to get myself down to the river now that I moved about a mile and a half away. I’m also not as close to any parks so the scenic views will be pretty residential for a few weeks. Like this:

Image

Any tips for staying relaxed while you work out?

Entry filed under: Body Sensing, Chi Running, Morning Workout, Relaxation, Yoga. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Slackin Cleansing, or Back on the Wagon Part Deux

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  August 8, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I thought that the music on yesterday’s run would have relaxed me, but it didn’t. I was trying to concentrate on my lean and keeping my ankles relaxed. I failed at both!

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  August 8, 2012 at 10:17 am

      It’s really hard isn’t it?! I’m realizing that’s where the “chi” aspect really comes into play. It really takes mindfulness and body focus, and then I think just building the muscle memory–teaching our bodies that they don’t need to be super tense to get a good workout.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


