Yoga Tweaking

July 24, 2012 at 7:19 pm 1 comment

On Sunday I had a private yoga session with my friend Jen to work out the issues I’ve been having with my up-dog pose and a few other poses and to have fun with some headstands.

It was a great session and my shoulders are still sore from all the chaturanga-up dog-down dog I did. I needed to do that many to try to engrain good habits. I had some mistake with almost each element of the sun salutation. I was jamming my shoulders in my ears when swinging my arms up, I needed to hold my hips higher in plank, properly place my hands in chaturanga and push farther forward with my feet to get into up dog. I’m still struggling with getting into up dog without putting too much pressure on my lower back, but it’s definitely much improved and for the last two mornings when I’ve practiced I can really tell the difference.

After practicing my up dog for a while Jen got me into child’s pose and realized that my hips are so tight I can’t even get into a proper relaxation in child’s pose. So I have to become a lizard. This is the lizard pose:

I’m definitely nowhere close to being there yet and in fact my homework is to do the level one version of a lunge, and then to work into a high lunge, one minute on each side. So far I’m doing them in the morning and evening and while the discomfort is pretty high I know it will help so much on so many levels–it will help my back pain, it will help my yoga practice and it will also help my chi running practice as I get to the part of really working on rotating my pelvis. Hips are so key, and with so many other elements of this short ch’i journey, I didn’t even realize how tight they were and also how crucial they are to everything else. Learning, learning.

I also asked for some help with my bridge because I was hurting my back doing it in classes. It’s my least favorite pose. Jen showed me how to line up my feet properly and that seems to help. My second piece of homework is to lay with blocks under my sacrum and to just relax. I can do that. And one day I will look like this:

In the last part of the private we worked on tripod headstand and I was able to get into a half tripod pretty easily. I guess because it’s similar to crow, and I love crow, but it was really fun. I can’t stay in it for more than a few breaths, but it’s something to look forward to at the end of a practice.

Now I am on the road for the next 10 days. I brought my yoga mat and my blocks and plan on using this link: http://www.markstephensyoga.com/resources/yoga-practice for guidance through a more concentrated practice. And while I’m watching trashy prime time I’ll be in my lunges.  :)

Entry filed under: Practice, Relaxation, Yoga. Tags: , , , , .

Dry Pond Hike Chi Running Week 2

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  July 25, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    This regurgitation is beautifully written with lots of insight! I am excited to see the changes in your practice after this long road trip! Keep it up and keep your drishti on the lizard!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


