Dry Pond Hike

July 23, 2012 at 9:16 am 1 comment

Friday ended up being a rest day and on Saturday morning I woke up feeling really great, and could feel the good effects of the week of activity. To keep it going, my boyfriend, D, and I decided to go on a little hike. There are so many places to hike around Reno and we don’t hike very often so I looked up different options. We settled on a 4.5 mile hike on the Dry Pond Trail and headed out the door. When we got to the trailhead we realized that we could make a loop instead of just going out and back.

It was a beautiful walk that began in a wooded canyon and followed a creek for about 2 miles.

It was a pretty mellow but steady elevation gain. After 2 miles we hit the actual Dry Pond Trail and started an ascent up a ridge to the dry pond. Along the way we passed some huge Ponderosa Pines. I had never seen Ponderosa’s so large, almost as big as younger Redwoods. I should have had D stand beside it for some scale.

The climb up the ride was pretty steep but it wasn’t very long, maybe half a mile? The views were worth it though. We also passed a lot of mountain bikers, trail runners, other hikers and horse droppings. It would be a pretty intense mountain bike ride, but if/when I start trail running, I think this area would be a great option.

That’s Mt. Rose ski resort in the background. I took this picture at the summit, beside the very dry pond. We then descended down the steeper side of the ridge into another canyon and got to finish the last few miles beside another creek and in a wooded path. The Aspens that lined both creeks were my favorite. This would be a really pretty hike in the fall.

We got back to my car after about 2 1/2 hours, and had ended up hiking 6.3 miles because we did the loop instead of just going back the way we came after reaching the dry pond. The hike started at 6100 feet and the elevation of the summit was around 7000, so it was a pretty good elevation gain for a Saturday stroll, but still a very mellow hike for all the different options in the Reno-Tahoe area.

For the first part of the hike I focused on my chi walking, but after about half way my concentration waned and I found myself constantly bringing my awareness back to my body. Because of my lack of focus it wasn’t the best day for my walking/running practice. There are going to be good training days and not so good ones and I’ll chalk this one up to a not so good day. But I was still out there and active and for me that’s half the battle.

Stay tuned for a post about a private yoga session with Jen and my training plans for the epic 10 day work trip to Oregon that starts tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Hiking, Posture, Practice, Relaxation, Walking. Tags: , , , , .

The Odyssey Yoga Tweaking

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. John  |  July 23, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Nice pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


