Relax, get to it

July 18, 2012 at 9:34 am 3 comments

Last night in “mindful flow” yoga, I was trying to be mindful of relaxing. I know, I know, I’m getting repetitive with all this relaxation talk, but it’s so important and I keep finding pockets of tension. One that keeps popping up is the tension in my glutes. I can’t not be a hard ass, apparently!

So during what seemed like a million high lunges and an hour long pigeon pose I tried to accept the pain in my hips (thank you desk job! I can’t wait for my ball chair!) and relax my glutes. Doing so helped me settle into the pose more (aka my hips are so sore today) but for some reason I also got the Frankie Goes to Hollywood song “Relax” in my head. You know the one. Which is inappropriate for a “mindful yoga” class on many levels, but when I looked up the song just now I also realized that I had the lyrics wrong anyway. In my head I was singing “Relax, get to it, when you want to get to it.” But really, it’s “Relax don’t do it, when you want to go to it,” which I guess isn’t too far off, and I like my version better anyway, but still…maybe not the best song for what’s supposed to be a meditative yoga class….

Anyway, yoga was nice and mindful and this morning I got up for another chi walk/running practice session. Instead of walking north to the park, I walked south down to the Truckee River. It’s about a mile down and then I walked along the river for a ways. I love walking by the river. It’s so nice. See below.

Once on the flat ground by the river I practiced my chi running form. I stopped each time I felt myself losing it to regroup. There’s so much to think about: lean forward from your ankles! relax your legs! rotate your pelvis! pump your arms! but keep your shoulders square! engage the core! lengthen your spine! relax your legs! let your legs swing up behind you! ankles! pelvis! arms! shoulders! muscles! abs! and breathe! don’t forget to breathe! but not like that, nose breathe! what, your nose is filled with snot? okay, walk.  I went through that about 4 times and even though it’s overwhelming, each time I was able to run a little farther and I had a few moments where I glimpsed what it’s really all about.

Baby steps. Baby, baby steps. It’s a great exercise in patience and persistence. It’s not about the destination (well it sort of is) but the journey is so important too. These are the things I keep reminding myself.

No yoga tonight, since I’ll be taking the second and final chi running workshop. A re-cap of the whole shebang and my morning for tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Morning Workout, Relaxation, Walking, Yoga. Tags: , , , , , .

Yoga Pre-Test and Floppy Ankles Workshoppin

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  July 18, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Thanks for the information on the ball chair, I too want to get one for the office! Keep blogging I am enjoying it every step of the way!

    Reply
  • 2. Steph  |  July 18, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Thanks Claudia! I’m working on it; it’s a good mantra to have.

    Reply
  • 3. CLAUDIA  |  July 18, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Gorgeous pictures!
    They say patience is a virtue – sometimes its the only way : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


twittererr

Join 14 other followers

fitness apps

Recent Posts

Archives


